Tambach High School

Quick Info

Tambach High School is in Elegeyo-Marakwet County (Keiyo North Constituency).

Tambach High School is a boys boarding secondary school.

Tambach High School in Elgeyo Marakwet has lived up to its dreams of providing quality education.
The institution prides itself in having strong alumni such as Treasury Cabinet Secretary Henry Rotich, Commission on Revenue Allocation chairman Micah Cheserem, former minister Nicholas Biwott, former Kenya Army General Lazarus Sumbeiywo and marathon world record holder Wilson Kipsang. Retired President Moi was a tutor and deputy principal in the teacher training college section for four years – from 1952 – before joining politics. Established in 1932 as Government African School, Tambach provided education for pupils from the local community from Standard One to Four. However, the local pupils were taught separately from children from colonial families; the Iten-Kabarnet Road separated the local students’ quarters on the western side and the whites on the eastern part, according to the school records. The institution became a secondary school by 1964. Now an extra-county school, Tambach has 841 boys — admitted in four streams in Forms Two to Four and five streams in Form One. It gets 70 per cent of its students from the county and 30 per cent from other counties A modern tuition complex whose construction was fully supported by Moi has distinguished the school and created room for more students.

Nearby schools:

  1. Kabore Pri Sch (487.63m)
  2. Moi Tambach Primary Sch (1435.03m)
  3. Kipkaa Pri (2108.23m)
  4. Kameza Pr (2202.46m)
  5. Chepkogin Pri Sch (2770.68m)


School Code: G7030289

Address: 241 Tambach

Level: Secondary School

Day/Boarding: Boarding

Gender: Boys

Ownership: Public

Sponsor: Central Government/DEB

Student Needs: Ordinary


Acreage: 100

Acreage per enrolment: 7.5

Pupil Teacher Ratio: 0.0

Total Enrolment: 749

Total Teaching staff: 40


County: Elegeyo-Marakwet

Constituency: Keiyo North

Province: Rift Valley

District: Keiyo

Division: Tambach

Location: Kiptuilong

Sub Location: Kipka


TSC Male Teachers 27
TSC Female Teachers 9
Local Authority Male Teachers 0
Local Authority Female Teachers 0
PTA Board of Governors Male Teacher 3
PTA Board of Governors Female Teacher 1
Other Male Teachers 0
Other Female Teachers 0
Non Teaching Staff Male 0
Non Teaching Staff Female 0