Nyahururu High School

Quick Info

Nyahururu High School is in Laikipia County (Ndaragwa Constituency).

Nyahururu High School is a boys boarding secondary school.

Nyahururu High School is located in the Ndaragwa constituency in Nyahururu . The school is part of the Nyandarua district in the Central province of Kenya.
It is a Boys Only Boarding Only school with the sponsorship listed as Religious Organization. The School Institution Type is classified as – Ordinary
The Boys school was started in 1964 by the Della Sale Christian brothers and the late Bishop C.M. Gatimu. It was named Christian Brothers Academy which was later re-named Laikipia High School (1967) and in 1969 its name changed to its current name Nyahururu High School.
Currently, the school has an enrolment of 825 students .The school is four streams and the statistics reflects over enrolment. This calls for expansion to five streams to ensure that the access, retention and completion attained is sustained and enhanced. .
The school has a high powered staff of 37 teachers with four teachers on teaching practice, 20 permanent Non teaching staff and 9 casual workers. This is a committed team of teachers and workers, who carries their duties with passion.
Physical Facilities
The school stands on 25 acres of land, has 17 classrooms, 10 dormitories, 3 well equipped laboratories, a kitchen and a dining hall, administration block, a bus, a school van, a truck, a generator, a woodwork workshop, library, computer laboratory, play field and stores which are adequate.

Nearby schools:

  1. Nyandarua Boarding Pri (493.03m)
  2. Samuel Kamande Mwaura Pri Sch (580.85m)
  3. Nyahururu Pry Sch (745.68m)
  4. Nyahururu Elite High School (746.09m)
  5. Nyahururu Elite Primary (746.09m)


School Code: D2040001

Address: 161 Nyahururu

Level: Secondary School

Day/Boarding: Boarding

Gender: Boys

Ownership: Public

Sponsor: Religious Organisation

Student Needs: Ordinary


Acreage: 25

Acreage per enrolment: 27.5

Pupil Teacher Ratio: 15.0

Total Enrolment: 688

Total Teaching staff: 46


County: Laikipia

Constituency: Ndaragwa

Province: Central

District: Nyandarua

Division: Nyahururu

Location: Nyahururu

Sub Location: Manguo


TSC Male Teachers 21
TSC Female Teachers 25
Local Authority Male Teachers 0
Local Authority Female Teachers 0
PTA Board of Governors Male Teacher 0
PTA Board of Governors Female Teacher 0
Other Male Teachers 0
Other Female Teachers 0
Non Teaching Staff Male 12
Non Teaching Staff Female 5