Kagumo High Sch

Quick Info

Kagumo High Sch is in Nyeri County (Nyeri Town Constituency).

Kagumo High Sch is a boys boarding secondary school.

Kagumo High School is a boy's national secondary school located between Kirichu and Kiganjo townships at Kagumo near Karatina on the Nyeri-Nairobi road in Kenya.
It became one of the first schools in Kenya to allow native black Africans to sit for university level entrance exams, doing so in 1946. As such, it is considered one of the best high schools in Kenya.
It has several notable alumni. These almna matter include lawyers, doctors, politicians among others . One such alumni student is the constitutional lawyer Gibson Kamau Kuria . Mr Cyrus G Wahome is former headmaster of the school. Mr Dickson Daniel Karaba, a member of Kenyan parliament is former headmaster as well. There are countless other prominent individuals who occupy significant positions in Kenya's such as Professor Jeremiah of Waterloo University political and cultural life. In academics, sports and creative arts this school has a long-standing rivalry with Nyeri High School, with meetings between the two schools, particularly in Rugby, and Basketball most intense.
"Kagumo High School Website". Retrieved 10 December 2011.
Kagumo High School Website http://www.kagumohigh.com/content.php?pid=1

Nearby schools:

  1. Kerichu Pri (316.19m)
  2. Gachika Sec Sch (1068.50m)
  3. Sacred Heart Girls Sec (1346.08m)
  4. Martex Pri (1404.72m)
  5. Kiganjo Pri Sch (1429.57m)


School Code: A2050337

Address: 69 Kiganjo

Level: Secondary School

Day/Boarding: Boarding

Gender: Boys

Ownership: Public

Sponsor: Central Government/DEB

Student Needs: Ordinary


Acreage: 52

Acreage per enrolment: 17.1

Pupil Teacher Ratio: 0.0

Total Enrolment: 887

Total Teaching staff: 36


County: Nyeri

Constituency: Nyeri Town

Province: Central

District: Nyeri

Division: Municipality

Location: Kiganjo

Sub Location: Kirichu


TSC Male Teachers 27
TSC Female Teachers 9
Local Authority Male Teachers 0
Local Authority Female Teachers 0
PTA Board of Governors Male Teacher 0
PTA Board of Governors Female Teacher 0
Other Male Teachers 0
Other Female Teachers 0
Non Teaching Staff Male 31
Non Teaching Staff Female 7